Romero takes eighth checkered flag at speedway

McAnally drivers fifth, sixth in Pro Series West race
By: Staff reports
-A +A

Jason Romero took the lead seven laps from the end and drove to his eighth Late Model victory of the season Saturday night at All American Speedway.

There were several lead changes in the 75-lap feature race on the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series program.

Randy Hedrick led the first four laps before Chris Scribner took over from laps 5-14. Dash winner Juan Pitta then led laps 15-33, gave up the lead to Scribner for one lap, regained the top spot and set the pace for the next 34 laps before Romero drove by.

Romero, who started ninth in the 10-car field, ran third until passing Scribner on lap 45. Romero beat Dylan Hutchinson to the checkered flag by .534 of a second.

Hutchinson qualified No. 1 with a time of 13.823 seconds around the one-third-mile track.

Pitta finished third, and reigning track champion and current points leader Matt Scott was fourth.

There were disqualifications in the Street Stock and Bomber main events.

Mickey Owens won the Street Stock feature when Chris Lambert was disqualified. Owens started fifth in the 15-car race and ran as low as 14th before coming back. Lambert led the final 26 laps of the 35-lap feature, and Owens passed Mel Wilson for second place on lap 33.

Richard Poppert Jr. was the top qualifier at 14.953 seconds, and he won a heat race and the dash. Byron Gonzales won the other heat.

Jill Schmidt beat Cody Rickard to the checkered flag by .569 of a second in a 35-lap Bomber main that ended with Eric Ray and Matt Camp being disqualified.

Schmidt was the No. 1 qualifier at 15.85 seconds. Richard Perez led the first 19 laps and 24 of the first 25. Dana Kelly won the dash, and Chris Paulson and Eric Bocksberger won the heats.

Steve Cote moved in front on lap nine of the 40-lap Modified feature and beat Dan Jinkerson by .762 of a second. Cote also won the dash. Jinkerson won the heat and set the pace in qualifying at 14.227.

Jeremy Wood dominated a 15-car Legends of the Pacific field and won by 2.053 seconds over Robby Czub. Wood started seventh and took the lead on lap 16.

Wood and James Bickford each were clocked at 15.449 in qualifying. Luis Tyrrell won the dash. Doug Braddock Jr. and Cody Berger won the heats.

BMR drivers fifth, sixth in Colorado

Bill McAnally Racing drivers Eric Holmes and Moses Smith finished fifth and sixth Saturday in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts 150 at Colorado National Speedway in Dacono.

Dylan Kwasniewski, who made his debut as the youngest driver in the history of the series in April at All American Speedway, became the youngest winner Saturday. Kwasniewski, who turned 16 in May, led 149 of 152 laps. Joey Logano, now driving The Home Depot car for Joe Gibbs on the Sprint Cup circuit, was 16 years, 10 months when he won in Phoenix in April 2007. Darrell Wallace Jr. was 16 years, five months when he won a K&N Pro Series East race.

Kwasniewski also became the young pole winner in series history.

The race will air on the SPEED Channel at 3 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 25.

The series moves to Montana Raceway Park in Kalispell on Saturday for the Toyota/TTC 150.

Smith remained second to Greg Pursley in points. Holmes is fourth.


Saturday. Gates open at 4 p.m. Racing at 6.
Where: All American Speedway, 800 All America City Blvd., Roseville.
Divisions: Modified, Street Stock, Bomber, WSRA.
Tickets: Adults, $13; Seniors 60 and over and juniors 6-15, $7; family pass (two adults, three juniors), $35; children 5 and under, free. Parking costs $5 per vehicle.
Information: (916) 786-2025 or