Optimist baseball rosters heavy in Roseville flavor

Games are Saturday, June 11, at American River College
By: Staff report
-A +A

Eight players and five coaches from Roseville high schools help comprise the North large- and small-schools rosters for the annual Optimist All-Star Baseball Games on Saturday, June 11, at American River College.

The small-schools game is scheduled for 4 p.m. with the large-schools game scheduled to begin 30 minutes after the conclusion of the opener.

Nick Blaser and Anthony Roberts, who helped lead Roseville to the Sac-Joaquin Section Division II championship, the school’s first in baseball since 1984, were selected to the North large-schools team, as were Nate Esposito and Andrew Wilson of Granite Bay, Kyle Jones of Oakmont and Kramer Sutey of Woodcreek.

Blaser is wrapping up a stellar four-year varsity career in which his last hit, in Roseville’s 4-2 victory over Rocklin in the section final, was his 100th in high school.

Roberts, Jones and Wilson all hit better than .400 and led their teams in hits.
Granite Bay’s Pat Esposito is the North head coach and will be assisted by Kelly Mayo of Woodcreek and Joe Swope of Granite Bay.

Brad Gunter Jr., who coached Valley Christian Academy to the Division VII section title, will lead the North small-schools team and will be joined on the bench by Lions assistant Todd Conroy.

North player selections include Junior Casas and Micky DeFiebre of Valley Christian and Michael Gassaway and Cory Moore of Antelope.

Casas hit the go-ahead home run in the section championship game. He hit .507 with seven homers and 33 RBI for the Lions.

The small-schools game begins at 4 p.m. today with the large-schools game to follow.
Where: American River College
Tickets: $10 for adults, $5 for students, $3 for kids 5 and under

Bella Vista:
Ben Brooks, Dustin Vaught. Casa Roble: Shane Rae. Del Campo: Mike Nantze. Del Oro: Jesse Lang. Granite Bay: Nate Esposito, Andrew Wilson. Jesuit: Brian Celsi, Matt Rogers. Nevada Union: Chris Porter. Oakmont: Kyle Jones. Rio Linda: Dustin Jenkins. Rocklin: Austin Diemer, Brian Hosang. Roseville: Nick Blaser, Anthony Roberts. Woodcreek: Kramer Sutey. Yuba City: Cody Kent, Tyler Olson. Coaches: Pat Esposito, Granite Bay; Kelly Mayo, Woodcreek; Joe Swope, Granite Bay.

Christian Brothers:
Russell King. Cordova: Lucas David. Davis: Josh Cosio, Alec Miramontes. Elk Grove: J.D. Davis, Jorge Vina. Franklin: Jordan Johnson, Jon Zunich. Oak Ridge: Austin Ales, Cole Hansen, Chris Muse-Fisher. Pleasant Grove: Garrett Heisinger. Ponderosa: Jerrod Bravo, Tyler Evanoff, Hunter Gallant. Rosemont: Dylan Malone. Vacaville: Brenden Farney, C.J. Jacobe. Coaches: Jeff Carlson, Elk Grove; Justin Parnell, Elk Grove; George Mullins, Elk Grove; Dave Pickney, Elk Grove; Todd Melton, Oak Ridge.

Michael Gassaway, Cory Moore. Auburn Christian: Luke Sween. Bear River: Coleman Huntley, Michael Lucas. Center: Zack Wade. Faith Christian: Chris Harmon. Inderkum: Nathan LaCasse. Lincoln: Sean Fox, Marcus Maldonado. Marysville: Derrick Brown. Mesa Verde: Tyler Long. Pioneer: Micheal Barron. San Juan: Logan Day. Trinity Prep: Brendan Quinn. Valley Christian: Junior Casas, Micky DeFiebre. Whitney: Trent Duncan. Coaches: Brad Gunter Jr., Valley Christian; Todd Conroy, Valley Christian; Dave Watson, San Juan; A.J. Roberts, San Juan; Paul Weaver, San Juan.

Bradshaw Christian:
Brady Dragmire. Capital Christian: Brock Hansen. Dixon: Angel Lara. Florin: Danny Ruiz, Chris White. Grant: Robert Munoz. Hiram Johnson: Sal Barajas. West Campus: Brian Carey, Moises Saldana. Kennedy: Kameron Miura, Marcel Thuston. McClatchy: Max Cordy, Nick Mar. River City: Kasey Chapan. Sacramento: Lee Carter. Union Mine: Jon Wong. Vista del Lago: John McCants. Coaches: Randy Davis, Florin; Ken O’Flaherty, Florin; Alex Ruiz, Florin; Mike DeNecochea, McClatchy.