Comments Disabled

49th annual event draws over 27,000 fans to Folsom area

Tomac, Osborne take victories in 2017 pro classes
By: Bill Sullivan, Associate Publisher
-A +A

Over 27,000 people rolled into our region last weekend for the 49th Annual Hangtown Motocross Classic at Prairie City State Vehicle Recreation Area. The record crowd enjoyed summer like weather at this traditional event that was the season opening event to the 2017 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship.

Eli Tomac swept the 450 Class motos Saturday. Tomac, the professional Monster Energy Kawasaki rider from Cortez, Colorado, held off KTM's Marvin Musquin in both motos for his sixth career victory.

"There was some good battling today," said Tomac. "In the first moto I got into a good groove quickly and made the passes early to go on and win, but the second moto was tough. "That was a good old classic battle (with Musquin). I really had to dig deep and try every line possible to make time up on the leaders. It feels good to get through the first round and leave with the red plate."

Kawasaki's Josh Grant was third in each of the motos for the 450 class.

In the 250 class race, Husqvarna rider  Zach Osborne took home the winners trophy.  Like Tomac, Osborne left Prairie City with the points lead in the series championship standings.

"This is always one of the roughest tracks we have all year, so you always come in here kind of guessing," Osborne said. "It's good to know we're leaving with the points lead and a win. My goal was to be in the top five and challenge for a podium, so to come away with a 1-1 is pretty awesome."

KTM's Alex Martin was second behind Grant, finishing fourth in each moto.

Sunday’s event also welcomed the opening round of the FMF 125 Dream Race Invitational Triple Crown .

Round one took place before the first 450 and 250 Class motos The race was won by Robbie Wageman with Josh Hansen and Topher Ingalls rounding out the podium.

The Hangtown Motocross Classic is presented by Dirt Diggers North. The non profit organization manages the annual race and prepares the facility year after year as well as manages the financial side of the event, which is an enormous undertaking. Insurance costs and materials break the bank far more than they did 49 years ago. However, with much success in the way of sponsorship the club continues to thrive and donates proceeds to area charity once the bills are all paid and funds are put back into the facility for future improvements.

The city of Folsom was the official host city for this year’s Hangtown Classic.  From Thursday through Sunday, numerous businesses saw an increase in activity as race teams and fans packed nearly all of the area hotels.  Throughout the weekend they patronized various retail outlets, restaurants and various night clubs in the area.

“It was really exciting to have the motocross riders hangout at Gaslight,” said Mark Dascallos, owner of Gaslight on Sutter Street in Folsom. “We love when out of town guests choose Sutter Street to relax and enjoy our city.”

For complete results of the event visit


2017 Hangtown Motocross Pro results

450 Class Overall Results                                   (Moto Finish)

Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Kawasaki                                (1-1)

Marvin Musquin, France, KTM                                         (2-2)

Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Kawasaki                         (3-3)

Dean Wilson, Glasgow, Scotland, Husqvarna              (10-4)

Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki                                  (7-7)

Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., KTM                  (6-8)

Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha                       (5-9)

Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda                    (4-12)

Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Suzuki                               (11-5)

Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Suzuki                              (8-10)



250 Class Overall Results                                      (Moto Finish)

Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., Husqvarna                 (1-1)

Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., KTM                                 (4-4)

Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha              (3-5)

Adam Cianciarulo, Port Orange, Fla., Kawasaki    (2-8)

Austin Forkner, Richards, Mo., Kawasaki                   (11-2)

Colt Nichols, Muskogee, Okla., Yamaha                      (5-6)

Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga., Kawasaki                  (7-7)

Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Kawasaki (8-9)

Mitchell Oldenburg, Alvord, Texas, KTM (6-12)

Mitchell Harrison, Brighton, Mich., Yamaha (9-11)