Jaguars win wrestling title

By: Staff Report
-A +A
Folsom Middle School’s wrestling team won the Foothill Athletic League championship on Saturday, setting a league record by scoring 140 points. The Jaguars had 16 wrestlers competing in the finals of the 21 weight classes, winning eight league titles. They also had six third-place finishers and four who finished in fourth place. Their 140 points broke Sutter’s record of 133 points. Sutter ended up second in the tournament with 114 points. Brent Schaffer, Jesse Zhang, Ney Vencer, Ryan Von Chance, Brendan Murphy, Chris Peterson, Dalton Boyer and Eric Johnson won their weight classes, while Trace Fredricks, Jeffrey Skyrud, Patrick Mastro, Adam King, Severin Anderson, Jaob Vencer, Andrew Vaquero and Grant Leon took second place. Lucas Riley, Tony Baldini, Bradley Schummer, Ian Altmeyer, Matthew Karp and Danny Frietas placed third and Blake Griffin, Trevor Corey, Nathan Pieters and Ethan Park finished fourth. “It was a pretty special win for the boys because Sutter was heavily favored,” Folsom coach Tom Ward said. “They crushed us in the dual meet.” Folsom will host the county championships on Saturday.