Folsom runners have great day at Willow Hills Relays

By: Staff Report
-A +A
Folsom High’s cross country team turned in an outstanding performance at the sixth annual Willow Hills Relays on Saturday. The varsity boys placed second to defending section champion Del Campo, while Vivian Lam posted a personal-best time of 19 minutes, 31 seconds to win the girls’ race. Lam’s time, her best by nearly a minute, is the second fastest in Folsom High history trailing only Maria Malone. The varsity boys set a school record with a time of 86:54, breaking the previous record by nearly three minutes. The time was also the fourth-best ever run in the event. Mike Kinoshita (17:30), Sam Scheuer (16:22), Vinnie Morin (17:16), Jake Goodwin (16:22) and Jon Barrows (18:24) comprised the team. All but Barrows ran personal-best times and Scheuer’s mark was the second-best in school history behind Jake Matthews’ 16:12. After Lam, Ashley Anderson placed sixth in 24:10 for the girls, followed by Jenn Rees (eighth, 24:58) and Katei Park (14th, 27:43). Like the varsity boys, the junior varsity boys placed second behind Del Campo with a time of 96:52. Blake Shaw (18:23), David Hanson (19:04), Cristiano Bobiles (19:08), Tim Scott (19:37) and Alexander Haines (20:43) made up the team. Scott’s time was a personal best by more than two minutes, while Shaw had a personal-record by nearly a minute. Other junior varsity runners for Folsom included Shawn Voon (fifth, 20:30), Spencer Buelna (seventh, 20:38), Peter Merrill (11th, 21:30), Andrew Weiss (12th, 21:35) and Jake Stern (13th, 21:50). The freshman-sophomore girls placed second to Oak Ridge with a school-record time of 54:23. Making up that team were Sarah Anderson (9:44), Katie Bock (10:00), Muna Ahamad (10:02), Michelle Hanson (11:02) and Abbi Johnson (13:35). Anderson’s time was a freshman-sophomore school record at Folsom by a minute, while Alhamad’s time was a 44-second personal-best and third-best ever by a Folsom runner. The boys took third, despite a school-record time of 46:58. Logan Kohne posted a school-record time of 8:48, followed by Parker Nelson (9:59), Weston Dewitt (9:08), John Kretschmann (9:11) and Chris Nowel (9:52). Also running as individuals included Travis Vo (fourth, 9:33), Gerardo Flores (sixth, 9:47), Matt Hopper (ninth, 9:59), Matt Merrill (13th, 10:16), Andrew Reed (15th, 10:21), Andrew Marino (20th, 11:07), Santiago Cervantes (21st, 11:08), Owen Collins (22nd, 11:17), Kyle Cardenas (11:32) and Wil Randall (11:37).