Folsom Mustangs win Association Cup

By: Special to the Telegraph
-A +A
The Folsom Mustangs, a girls’ under-14 soccer team, finished their year by winning Association Cup. The three weekend-long tournament is the ultimate prize for select level soccer clubs. The Mustangs won seven games in three different cities to bring home the prize. In the first weekend, the Mustangs scored victories over the Piedmont Highlanders 7-0, the Santa Rosa Central Speed 3-0 and the Roseville Ambush 3-0 on their way to the sweet sixteen. Weekend two in Morgan Hill saw the Mustangs face tougher competition, but came away with two more convincing decisions against the Redding Misfit Bandits (3-0) and the Roseville Perfect Gift (4-2), to advance to the semifinals. Saturday’s semifinal game against the Greenhaven Panthers was the toughest test yet for the Mustangs. Despite pressing the Panthers the entire first half, and putting many shots on goal, the half ended in a 0-0 tie. The Mustangs again controlled the ball for most of the second half, but still found themselves down 1-0 as time wound down. In the final minute, the Mustangs made one final push and put one in the net to send the game to overtime. The stalemate continued through two overtime periods and finally ended with the Mustangs winning 5-4 on clutch penalty kicks and great keeper play. In the championship game, the Mustangs faced yet another District VI team, the Sunrise Tornadoes. The game started with the Tornadoes frustrating the Mustangs with an offside trap, but the offense made adjustments and put two balls in the net to take a 2-0 lead at the half. The second half saw the Mustangs shut down the Sunrise team with a controlling midfield and stifling defense. They put in an insurance goal, as well, to win the Northern California championship, 3-0. Members of the Mustangs include Hanna Bilyk, Becca Chaffee, Morgan Day, Kelsey Decker, Melissa Hardoin, Kaitlyn Kassis, Jordin Kelsey, MacKensie Mercier, Kendall Moore, Shandy Nanomantube, Jenna Pasut, Kelsey Sampson, Caity Santoriello, Rachel Shebert, Caroline Sipiora and Elise Stevens. Brian Pasut coaches the team.