Bulldogs have five league champs

By: Staff Report
-A +A

Five wrestlers from Folsom High won Delta River League titles Saturday.

Nick Fiegener won his third straight league title, while Mason Koshiyama and Lorenzo De La Riva won titles for the second straight year. Curtis Booth and Andrew Coyne were first-time winners.

Fiegener and De La Riva dominated their opponents, Fiegener winning 17-1 and De La Riva coming out on top 14-5. Koshiyama (9-7), Booth (12-10) and Coyne (4-2) all won close decisions.

Jason Bergquist (132), Connor Watson (152) and Devon Nooner (170) placed second in the tournament. Carlos Alvarez (113) and Jon Yslas (195) took third, while Jordan Denny (126) and Robbie Cuhna (Hwt.) finished fourth. All wrestlers finishing in the top-four advance to the divisional tournament to be held  this weekend at Pitman High School in Turlock.

Jerod Nooner (182) and Justin Badger (220) placed fifth for Folsom and are alternates.

Folsom’s JV team also had an excellent finish to its season, walking away with 10 league champs.

Alder Moreno (113), Zach McMillan (126), Braedan Kavan (132B), Kevin Borgh (132A), Eli Diaz (140A), Connor Friery (140B), Jason Mica (152A), Eric Helm (152B), Cooper Fields (160) and Jake Bienvenue (182) won titles. Jerry Garrido (128) and Austin Badger (195) placed second.