Barracudas defeat College Green

By: Special to the Telegraph
-A +A
Ten individual records and three relay records were broke and 26 different Broadstone swimmers won events in the Barracudas 601-267 win over College Green on Saturday. It was a hot day at the Broadstone pool, and after the meet the coaches were pushed in the pool in celebration of the first win in five years. Three relays broke the standing Barracuda relay records. The 9-10 boys, consisting of Ethan Dillard, Garrett Grubaugh, Luke Peters, and Nick Thompson, shattered the three-year old 100-yard medley relay record by two seconds with a new time of 1 minute, 12.37 seconds. The boys also went on to break the 9-10 200 free relay record with a time of 2:18.85. The 15-18 boys, Ryan Thomas, Connor Paquin, Ben Rosenfeld and Alan Rosenfeld, also broke their own free relay record set three weeks earlier. Four swimmers broke individual Barracuda team records. Melissa Estep broke the 17-18 records for 100 IM, 100 free, 100 backstroke, 100 breast stroke and 50 fly. Alan Rosenfeld broke the records for the 17-18 boys’ 100 IM, 50 free and 100 breast stroke. Lauren Grubaugh broke the 17-18 girls’ 50 free record. Ryan Thomas broke an eight-year-old record for the 15-16 boys’ 50 butterfly with a time of 26.72. Kayla Rios placed first in the 9-10 girls’ IM, 50 free and the 25 butterfly. Samantha Thomas placed first in the 11-12 girls’ 100 IM, 50 free, and 50 butterfly. Kristin Ksarjian won the 13-14 girls’ 100 IM, 50 yard and the 50 butterfly. Matt Zerweck won the boys’ 13-14 100 IM, 100 free and the 50 butterfly. Taelor Poncin placed first in the 15-16 girls’ 50 free, and the 17-18 100 backstroke and 50 fly. Katherine Tehaney won the girls’ 17-18 50 free, 15-16 100 backstroke and 100 breast stroke. Connor Paquin won the 15-16 100 backstroke and 50 fly, and the 17-18 100 breast stroke. Ryan Thomas placed first in the boys; 15-16 100 IM and 50 free and the 17-18 50 butterfly. The Barracudas had five swimmers win two first places, including Kyle Wong, Courtney Sams, Josh England, Madeline Prather and Ashley Lomelino. Thirteen additional swimmers had a first-place win. Emma Kroencke, Emily Peters, Jennifer Lathrop, Garret Grubaugh, Gabriela Vanacore, Madison Plaza, Courtney Johnson, Connor Grubaugh, Samantha White, Ben Rosenfeld, Ross Greer, Melissa Estep and Alan Rosenfeld also won events.