Folsom Telegraph Motoring

Moore, McDaniel, Palmer, Kinney earn Placerville Speedway victories

This Saturday is fan appreciation day at Thompson’s Auto Center
By: Gary Thomas
-A +A

Reigning Winged 360 Sprint Car Champion Mason Moore of Princeton took full advantage of starting on the pole in the feature and led all 25-laps to claim his first Placerville Speedway victory of the season on Saturday night.

Also sharing victory lane at the fifth Red Hawk Casino championship point race of the season were Ryan McDaniel in the Ltd. Late Models, Jason Palmer in the Pure Stocks and Scott Kinney with the BCRA Midget Lites.

Moore shot to the lead at the waving of the green flag in the Sprint Car main event, while current point leader Greg Decaires carved his way to second, getting under outside front row starter Andy Forsberg.

Forsberg then dropped to fourth on lap 16, as Wilton’s Matt Peterson was able to sneak under just prior to the caution flag waving. When going back green however, Forsberg charged to the high-side of the quarter-mile bullring and blasted into second on lap 18 and quickly came after the leader.

With 19-laps complete Forsberg looked as if he would get by for the lead while running the cushion through turns three and four, but at the same time Moore had slipped up the track. Things got fairly tight and ultimately saw Forsberg get over the edge, spinning to a stop and ending his thrilling charge towards the front. After that it was all Moore as he took the checkered flag for season win number one aboard the Friends & Family Racing X1 machine.

Peterson came out on top of an entertaining duel for second with Decaires to earn a very solid runner up finish. Decaires was then able to narrowly beat out a fast moving Jimmy Trulli of Placerville at the stripe. Trulli’s impressive run from the fifth row netted him fourth at the conclusion, with Visalia’s Steven Tiner rounding out the top-five.

The Ltd. Late Model main event was all about Ryan McDaniel, who led all 20-laps to score his third win of the season at Placerville Speedway. Current point leader Matt Michelli made a lap 13 pass of Ray Trimble to claim the runner up spot. Trimble, Tyler Lightfoot and Scott Woessner completed the top-five.

The Pure Stock feature saw a rough and tumble contest, but in the end it was Jason Palmer picking up his first victory of the 2017 campaign. At the waving of the green flag Ryan Peter shot to the lead, but following a lap-one restart Palmer would take command. Palmer fended him Rick Grunert, Scott Woessner, Travis Emery and Jay Bryant.

Veteran Scott Kinney took the lead on the start of the BCRA Midget Lite feature and never looked back, leading all 20-laps in dominating fashion. Hunter Kinney, Emilee Lindgren, Kayla Green and Craig Dillard came home second through fifth.

The Placerville Speedway will be right back in action this coming Saturday June 10 for the annual Thompson’s Auto Group Fan Appreciation Day.

During the day there will be a pit party with cars on display and drivers available for autographs. Divisions set to compete later that night will include the Thompson’s Auto Group Winged 360 Sprint Cars, Ltd. Late Models, Pure Stocks, Mini Trucks and the NCDCA Dwarf Cars.

Results can be found at our website