SFL Wrestling Tournament results, photos: Del Oro nabs six championship titles

By: Ike Dodson of the Auburn Journal
-A +A

Sierra Foothill League results

Top-five qualify to divisionals

106: 1st place: Antonio Lorenzo (DO) 3:18 pin Shane Kumaratne (R). 3rd place: Zayne Beckman (OR) 5-3 dec. Aiden Martinez (WC).  5th place: Hap Rowe (NU) 1:54 pin Reide Staples (F)

113: 1st place: Jared Horstman (OR) 8-2 dec. Angelo Martinoni (F). 3rd place: Austin Valencia (WC) 6-4 dec. Kole Browning (DO). 5th place: Ethan Tabaie (GB) 5-4 dec. Ryan Clark (R)

120: 1st place: Michael Mello (OR) 13-3 MajDec. Teague Dilbeck (GB). 3rd place: Keaton Richards (NU) 7-4 dec. Miguel Baldera (WC). 5th place: Alex Goyhenetche (R) 4:41 pin Jake Giovannoni (DO)

126: 1st place: Landon McBride (DO) forfeit over Jackson Redhair (OR). 3rd place: Logan Bik (R) 11-9 dec. Kai Niimi (GB). 5th place: Owen Cobleigh (F) 12-0 MajDec. Garrett Graves (NU)

132: 1st place: Curtis Booth (F) 1:20 pin Chase Patterson (DO). 3rd place: Angelo Uribe (GB) 4-3 dec. Ricky Mello (OR)

138: 1st place: Jack Ramalia (GB) forfeit over Jared Mica (F). 3rd place: Daelin Wofford (OR) 10-1 Maj.Dec. Mitchell Herberger (R)

145: 1st place: Clay Shropshire (DO) 15-0 tech Kaleb Reyes-Small (F). 3rd place: Hunter Gonzalez (R) 9-5 dec. Ben Switzer (WC). 5th place: Jack Santina (OR) 4:44 pin Matthew Ontiveros (GB)

152: 1st place: Jeff Skyrud (F) 10-5 dec. Noah Blake (DO). 3rd place: Brian Horn (R) 6-3 dec. Kashe McHugh (NU). 5th place: Bobby Mello (OR) 7-1 dec. Mason Kohls (GB).

160: 1st place: Israel Saavedra (GB) 13-5 Maj.Dec. Jason Berquist (F). 3rd place: Willie Costanzo (DO) 6-2 dec. Albert Bicocca (OR). 5th place: Michael Kitton (WC) forfeit over Brady Hole (R)

170: 1st place: Justin Burrage (DO) 13-3 Maj.Dec Nick Diaz-Kokaisl (OR). 3rd place: Parker Wilken (GB) 2-0 dec. Andrew Linsenbach (WC). 5th place: Nathan Cobleigh (F)

182: 1st place: Braedon Kavan (F) 4:42 pin Jordan Jensen (GB). 3rd place: Bailey Ferrier (NU) 2:39 pin Eddie Zamora (R). 5th place: Sean Erickson (OR)

195: 1st place: Dylan Crane (F) 2:26 pin Adam Lowe (DO). 3rd place: Preston Cobabe (OR) 3:36 pin Arshan Mizani (GB)

220: 1st place: Hunter Halverson (DO) 1-0 dec. Mason Roush (F). 3rd place: John Moestopo (OR)

285: 1st place: Pablo Miller (DO) 3:26 pin Brysen Klinefelter (OR),. 3rd place: Brandon Anthony (GB) 3:33 pin Eli Wood (F). 5th place: Cole Johnson (NU)

GRANITE BAY — The four schools most responsible for the Sierra Foothill League’s reputation as the most dominant conference in the Sac-Joaquin Section made sure to flex their postseason muscles Saturday during the SFL Wrestling Tourney.

Host Granite Bay, Del Oro, Folsom and Oak Ridge combined for 27 of the 28 finalists in 14 weights and took home every championship during a sensational display of skill and talent on the Grizzlies mat.

Despite suffering an enormous blow when state stalwart Ryan Ojeda failed to make weight at 138 pounds, and then an upset loss by state No. 13 Noah Blake (State No. 34 Jeff Skyrud of Folsom beat him), Del Oro led all teams with six champions and 11 qualifiers to the next stage of the wrestling postseason.

“The cool thing about the postseason is that as long as you don’t go two-and-out, there is always an opportunity to redeem yourself next week,” Del Oro coach Clint Madden said. “We need to have a good week of practice and wrestle well next week.”

The top five SFL wrestlers in each weight will move to next week’s SJS D1-AA Championships at Lincoln of Stockton. Since the league qualifiers more wrestlers to divisionals than any other league, only 10 SFL wrestlers have been eliminated. Because of a low turnout, the SFL also failed to qualify a fifth wrestler in five weights.

Del Oro’s Antonio Lorenzo (106), Landon McBride (126), Clay Shropshire (145), Justin Burrage (170), Hunter Halverson (220) and Pablo Miller (285) nabbed bracket championships while Blake, Chase Patterson (132) and Adam Lowe (195) ended runner-up.

Willie Costanza (160) finished third for Del Oro while Kole Browning (113) finished fourth.

Folsom dropped a surprising 8-2 finals match when Angelo Martinoni slipped to Oak Ridge’s Jared Horstman, but Skyrud made up for it with his big upset at 152.

Curtis Booth (132), Braeden Kavan (182) and Dylan Crane also won for Folsom. Booth, ranked ninth in California after placing seventh last year, had the most impressive finals victory, a 1:20 pin over Patterson.

“It’s my last high school postseason, so I am hoping to get it done,” Booth said. “I am looking forward to state.

“I want to make it on the podium again, and making the finals would be great.”

Granite Bay and Oak Ridge both enjoyed a pair of SFL titles. The Trojans nabbed one when state No. 31 Mike Mello beat state honorable mention Teague Dillbeck of Granite Bay in a 13-3 finale at 120.

The Grizzlies got a freebie when state No. 9 Jack Ramalia went 2-0 to cruise to a surprisingly easy championship at 138. He didn’t have to face state No. 16 Ojeda after his Del Oro foe missed weight, and then got a forfeit in the finals when state HM Jarod Mica of Folsom forfeited. Ramalia’s only match was a 16-0 tech-fall in the semifinals.

His 160-pound teammate, two-time state champion transfer Israel Saveedra of Modesto, had perhaps the toughest finals match, but he didn’t let it show.

Facing state No. 6 Jason Berquist of Folsom, Saveedra (currently ranked third in CA) scored a flurry of late points en route to a 13-5 major decision.

“Of course I was nervous,” Saveedra admitted. “But I was winning by a good margin at the end, so I played it safe.

“It feels good (to be in the postseason). Of course my goal is to win state, but I won’t be that upset if I don’t. I’m looking forward to college.

Like his brother, famed NCAA stalwart Emilio Saavedra, Isreal is committed to wrestle for Old Dominion University in Virginia.

Granite Bay (nine D1-AA qualifiers), Del Oro and Folsom (12) have plenty alive for next week, but Oak Ridge was the only team to qualify all 14 wrestlers to divisionals. Woodcreek will send six, while Rocklin advances seven. The Thunder got a huge tournament from unheralded Brian Horn, who slipped just 2-1 to tourney champ, Skyrud, then upset both Mason Kohls of Granite Bay (first-round pin) and state No. 22 Kashe Mchugh of Nevada Union (6-3) in the bronze-medal match.

"That was awesome, to see Horn beat Kashe," Rocklin coach Tom Gonzalez said. "He really stepped it up, picked a good time to show up."

Nevada Union ultimately qualified four wrestlers to Divisionals.