Fifteen local players named to all-Metro football team

By: Staff Report
-A +A

Fifteen local football players were selected as all-Metro players.

Folsom senior quarterback Joe Curry was the Offensive Player of the Year. Curry completed 265-of-391 passes for 3,875 yards in leading the Bulldogs to the Sac-Joaquin Section Division I championship game. Curry threw 53 touchdowns and only seven interceptions, while completing 67 percent of his passes.

Curry was one of six Folsom players to make the team. His go-to receiver, Drake Stallworth, also made the all-Metro first team. Stallworth caught 61 passes for 1,224 yards and 19 touchdowns. Brad Jenner made the first-team as a tight end, as he caught 15 passes for 185 yards and six touchdowns.

Honorable mention selections included wide receiver Jack Sa and running backs Brandon Rupchock and Davin Simmons.

Oak Ridge had five players make it, including first-team selections Parker Blomquist (6-4, 265) as a lineman and quarterback Marco Baldacchino, who made it in the category of an all-purpose player. Baldacchino threw for 1,841 yards and 22 touchdowns, while also rushing for 991 yards and 17 touchdowns.

Oak Ridge lineman Bryan Catchings (6-3, 270) made the second team, while running back Michael Pittman and lineman Derek Item were honorable mention selections.

Vista quarterback Brent Schaeffer and receiver Brenden Hall were second-team all-Metro selections. Schaeffer passed for 3,681 yards and 49 touchdowns, while only throwing eight interceptions. He also rushed for 357 yards and eight touchdowns. Hall caught 98 passes for 1,491 yards and 22 touchdowns. He averaged 15 yards per catch.

Running back Dominick Norris and receiver Blake Tuter were honorable mention selections.